Dvorak Keyboard

Let’s see. Let’s see where the words take us. I don’t know where this post is going to take me.  I don’t know where this blog is going to take me.

I’ve been meaning to check out the other type of keyboard. Still haven’t even taking a look at it. I don’t want to swipe to the other screen right now to research it on Google. I want to concentrate on this blog.

I easily get distracted. I may be in the middle of something and my phone vibrates. I open it up but not directly to the notification. I’m on the home page. Then I see another notification on another app. I open that up. Look and see what’s going on. Respond to a message or something. Then I click the lock screen.

I remember that’s not why I opened my phone. I open it again. Go back, check the notification, then I lock my phone again. This sequence could take me 5 minutes. It could take me 20. It could be longer. That’s time. Valuable time. Wasted.

This happens. It used to happen more often than it does now.

Are the days of giving something undivided attention completely over?

How many of us have paid to see a movie and there is someone checking their phone in the middle of it? How many of us are the ones checking the phone?

This isn’t necessarily only about phones. If I’m doing something on one Google Chrome tab, there may be another 10 tabs open. Some for work but some for no reason whatsoever. Then there is the feature on the Macbook of switching screens.

I switch screens all day. Email, swipe to work research, swipe to Email, swipe to another tab, swipe to a Word document, swipe to Email, swipe to Excel, then my phone vibrates and you know how that goes.

How productive can someone be, doing so many things?

I was not very productive when I was working this way. I’m not saying I’ve completely kicked the habit of switching tabs but I’ve begun to grow very vary of it.

I use ToDoist. Today I created a category named: “IMPORTANT TASKS”. Every night or in the morning I will place the most important tasks that I need to complete that day. Today, I had one task on there.

Yeah, one. Just one. That was the most important task to me today. I’m happy to say I completed it. Does this mean I didn’t do anything else? Of course not.

I simply need to remind myself what is important to me, daily. If I’m going to work towards my own goals every day, then I need to remind myself, every day, of the most important tasks to achieve my targets.

I will limit the tasks to 3 on the ‘IMPORTANT TASKS’ list. I still don’t know what I will put on there but I was happy with my selection today.

I needed to get something done for Bazinga!. It’s something that I don’t particularly enjoy doing but it needed to be done. It was important to me to do it. I’m happy to say I did it. I crossed it off the list.

What a gratifying experience. Crossing something off my To-Do list. Well, in this case, it’s an app. I swiped it off my list. It’s the best swipe of the day.

I think we all need to feel productive. In fact, I think we all want to feel useful.  I know I do. There were times when I didn’t feel useful. It’s a bad feeling.

I believe being bored may be linked to feeling useless. Think about it. If you are sitting around, bored, you’re probably not doing something productive.

You could be thinking, that’s ludicrous. I’m sitting in my office and getting through all these tasks that I need to do but I’m bored. I’m productive but I’m bored.

Maybe that’s right.

I think a bit deeper. I think about that person doing work and feeling bored. Why?

Why are you bored if you’re getting things done? Are you fulfilled? To me, it doesn’t sound like it.

If you get 100 things done in a day and feel bored doing it or unfulfilled afterwards, then you are not living life as you should. At least, that’s how I think about it.

I have a tangible goal, with an actual timeline, that I am working towards daily. Ever since I’ve created these goals none of my tasks feel like chores. I understand why I need to do it. If I don’t think it will help me achieve my dreams then I don’t bother. I don’t feel bored while I’m doing it. In fact, I’m excited to take on the challenge. After all, it’s all for my goals. It’s for my dreams. It’s for me.

This makes a huge difference in my day to day activities. Goals are crucial. Working towards something that you want is rewarding.

Too many of us are thrown into life like a fishing boat in the middle of the ocean. Letting the current take us in any direction. At what point are we going to take control?

I’m 25.

I’m going to tell my kids I was 25.

I was 25 when I decided I’m the one in control of my life.

Every day I get pulled in many directions. Niko needs to go out. My phone is ringing. I get an email. I get a message. I see another headline. I check social media. I watch a video. Then another.

I’m not complaining, I’m merely stating this is what I go through every day. We all have some variation of this in our lives.

At what point are you doing something you want to do? Something that is important to you. Do you even know what that is? Do you remember?

I can’t count the number of times I was getting ready for bed and realized I didn’t do something I wanted to do that day.

Oh, I’ll just get it done tomorrow. I forget again. Then again. Then a month later it pops into my head. You want an example? How about that keyboard I mentioned earlier? It’s been over a month since I wanted to do further research on it. I never placed it on me to-do list. I thought I would remember. I still haven’t done it. This is one example of countless others.

The point is, we do this with the tasks that are most important to us. I’ve been telling myself to book a massage appointment since my car accident a month ago. I finally did it 2 days ago. Something as important as my own health is sometimes put on hold for that cat video. Or that message. Or that email.

Prioritization is key.

We can all get through 100 mindless tasks a day and at the end of the day feel completely bored and unfulfilled. That’s not what I want. I know what I want.

 

Author: Mehmet Akcagliyan

I am the Master of my Fate. I am the Captain of my Soul.

3 thoughts on “Dvorak Keyboard”

Leave a Reply

