Bought a House

Holy crap we bought a house.

I can’t believe how it all went down. It’s a really big detached house. I’ve never lived in a place like this. A house like this was in my long-term plans. However, after listening to Eliz talk about her renovation plans, and seeing her Pinterest pins, I think this could become that dream house over time.

In Tools of Titans, one of the guests said we should ask ourselves why we can’t accomplish our 5 year goals in 6 months. I don’t know if I said to myself that buying a house like this would be possible in such a short amount of time, but clearly it is. This doesn’t mean everyone of us with long term goals can achieve it in a fraction of the time, but there is no harm in asking yourself why you can’t do it sooner.

It feels great. A weight off our shoulders. It’s a big step in our lives. I want to enjoy the moment. Thing is, now there is a mortgage to think about. House repairs that need to be completed. These things take time and money, but I’m not worried at all.

I know that we are going to get through the minor things that need to be done. I was happy to see what Eliz had in mind for the laundry/mud room in the new house. It was exciting to envision how we can put in the work to make the house our home. I’m really looking forward to it.

This week has been busy. Obviously, we bought the house so that was a rush. The other thing that I’m doing right now is creating a sales plan for work. I am in control of what will happen. It feels great knowing that I have such a big impact but at the same time there is pressure. I don’t mind the pressure. I know I can thrive in it, but I need a great game plan. That’s what I’m working on right now.

I think I approach life the same way as I have with this plan. What do I need to do to reach my goals? That’s the question I asked myself a few months ago when I started Invictus Beard. I think it was Tony Robbins who said something like “The right questions can change your life.” I did some research and found an article that had a list of questions to ask when completing a sales plan. This entire week has been about asking those questions. The thing I find most interesting about it is the fact that it is all introverted. How many calls do I need to make? How many emails do I need to send out? Who do I think is my ideal client? Will I need to attend any trade shows?

I believe everything is connected. A sales plan is just that, a plan you make to get sales. How many of us have taken the time to create a life plan? I hadn’t done it until a few months ago. There is no course in university that teaches you how to plan your life. In fact, I don’t even think there was help in planning your university courses prior to entering first year. I struggled with my marks in first year, just as many of my friends. I had a guidance counsellor in high school but I didn’t know what they were there for. They weren’t helpful at all. I didn’t visit the guidance counsellors in university until about the end of first year. I didn’t know they were going to be helpful. I may have just been stupid and ill-informed. I didn’t actively seek out answers. I didn’t ask the right questions to the right people.

What I’m trying to say is I didn’t take time to create a plan for myself. I didn’t have a clear goal in mind. I didn’t think about how I would obtain what I want because at the time, I didn’t even know what I was striving for. I simply went to university because it was the next thing to do. I was told go to school, take university level classes so one day I can go to university. That’s what I did. Thing about life is, after university nobody tells you what to do.

You must figure things out for yourself. Some of us are great at it. We know what we want from life. You may have figured it out when you were young; I didn’t. As soon as I found out I wasn’t going to the NBA, my plans went out the window. Full disclosure: I’m 5’ 9”, I can barely shoot 3s and I pick up a lot of technical fouls. I don’t think I had much of a chance to begin with.

I think many of us struggle in life because we don’t know what it is we truly want. I hear it all the time from people. “I didn’t know what I wanted to do in university, in fact, I still don’t know.” I think about that response now and I wonder if they ever sat down and thought about it. While reading 7 Habits of Highly Effective People I did the exercise of envisioning my own funeral. That took me less than 30 minutes and I still believe it changed my life. It brought clarity to my journey. Why am I working at this company? Why do I want to start my own business? What are the most important things in my life? I had to look within myself to find the answers. If you don’t know your own goals then I don’t think you are going to feel fulfilled.

My advice is to create a life plan for yourself. There are many books out there that can help you with it. I would suggest reading 4 Hour Workweek, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, and Think and Grow Rich. These books have helped me explore my inner thoughts. I could answer questions that I didn’t even think to ask of myself before reading these books.

We are in a society where money, fame, and fortune is the easiest, and probably, the most popular way to measure happiness. Then why are so many celebrities committing suicide? Why are so many CEOs complaining about depression? It isn’t sufficient to want money just because that’s what society considers success.

If I hadn’t read these books, I never would have realized that my biggest goal is to have a family in a nice home, that I will travel and make my memories with. Before reading these books all I wanted was to move to downtown Toronto and propel my career. I never stopped to ask why I want that. It seemed like the coolest thing to do. I’m very grateful for those books and the authors.

The questions I asked myself has already brought my life to an incredible place. I suggest we all continue to ask meaningful questions to ourselves. All the help we need are in books. I’ve already suggested 3 to start you off. You need to make time to read them. They’ve changed my life for the better. It may do the same for you.

Work towards happiness.

What’re some of your favourite books?

Have any of you read the books I’ve listed?

What’re your thoughts?

Drop a comment and let’s discuss.

Author: Mehmet Akcagliyan

I am the Master of my Fate. I am the Captain of my Soul.

Leave a Reply

