Excuses

This has been one of those times where I’ve started the blog and deleted everything I’ve writing a few times. This time, whatever hits the page is staying on.

It’s easier to write when I write every day. Only a few things would have happened that I really want to write about and I write about it. Now, it’s hard because it’s been so long since I’ve written something. Eliz came back. She booked nearly everything for the wedding. We will decide on some things together but that’s about it. If everything goes according to plan we should have the house this week. I’m looking forward to it but I’m also anxious. It’s a lot to think about. We went to visit it and there is a lot of work to be done. Things I never even thought about. For instance, I never had to cut grass before because I always lived in a condo. That’s one of the upsides of living in a condo.

Today was hard for me. I’m trying to list my products on Amazon and I’ve been struggling. Everything I try hasn’t worked. Now I need to wait again for approval before I can get the product listed. It feels like it’s taking forever. I may just be impatient. Maybe I’m just mad at myself for those nights that I procrastinated. Although, I don’t think that’s what it was. I don’t think I was procrastinating. Maybe I wasn’t prioritizing it ahead of everything else. I wanted to write. I wanted to spend time with family. I wanted to see friends. I wanted to sleep. Spent most of today on it and I don’t feel like I truly accomplished anything. It’s an overpowering feeling.

It would’ve have been nice to be able to say, at least I finished the listing, but I wasn’t able to complete it. I can only control what I can control. I’ve been sitting here like an upset, grumpy old man because of things I can’t control. I hate when I do that. Then I get more upset because I see that I’m acting that way and wishing I wasn’t. Then when I can’t change it right away I get even more frustrated. It’s a vicious cycle. All the while it’s affecting people’s moods around me.

I feel the need to mention a conversation I had with one of Eliz’s cousins few days ago. We went out to grab a beer and had a great conversation about business, ambition, relationships, our childhood, family, goals. I didn’t realize how much time had passed until the bar we were in began to get quiet. It’s great to meet ambitious people. He’s a little older than me and has already started a few businesses. He’s already had a few ventures and it seems his been successful in many of them.

Ever since I’ve tried to do things for myself I’ve been failing. I know what all the big entrepreneurs say. Failure is a part of the process. If we’ve learned anything from the Philadelphia Sixers it’s that we must “Trust the Process.”  Thing is they don’t mention how difficult it could be when you are in it. I feel I’m a resilient person. I know in the end I’m going to do something that will work out but it still sucks when I fail at something I try. Thing is, nothing I’m in right now is finished, it just seems to be a hard road. I feel like it should be simpler. Maybe I’m overcomplicating things. Maybe I’m underestimating the work that needs to be done.

Posting something on Amazon to sell shouldn’t be this difficult. I look at all the listings on there and feel like an idiot because I couldn’t figure it out. Thing is, it’s been on my mind for weeks now and the fact that I reserved the time to do it and didn’t get it done upsets me. Truth is, I’m upset because I took this long to try. I’m afraid that it will be a few more weeks before I try it again. I don’t want that to happen. I feel it’s going to become harder to work on Invictus Beard.

We are going to close on the house and begin renovations right away. There is a lot of work to be done. At the same time, I want to take advantage of an opportunity with Eliz’s cousin. I know I’ll have to put in the work for that. Not to mention I still have a full-time job and I don’t plan on leaving that any time soon. Also, there is this blog. I want to continue to write. My time management skills need to get really good, really fast.

I know I can do these things because other people have done a lot more in a lot less time so, why can’t I? It is so easy to make excuses but I refuse. I’m not living like that anymore. Life is too short to make excuses.

Friend of mine had a great idea for a product that we could sell on a subscription basis. I was behind it but didn’t really push it too hard or try to make it happen. Then a few months later we found out someone else had the same idea and the company has taken off. It could’ve been us if we had acted. I don’t want to have that feeling again. That’s why I’m so keen to act on all my ideas. I may be stretching myself thin but I don’t care right now. This would be the time to do it.

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.” – Shakespeare

It’s incredibly simple to make excuses. Yesterday while listening to a podcast, Phil Keoghan said sometimes he laughs when he hears the excuses his friends come up with because they’ve become so good at making excuses. Then he said something that was interesting to me. He said, and I’m paraphrasing here, “I tell my daughter that if she started to be optimistic at age 21 then by the time she’s in her 40s she’ll be really good at finding the positives in every situation.”

I think this quote resonated with me because in a way, it was the premise behind one of my favourite books Think and Grow Rich. Whatever way you choose to train the mind is how it will begin to react to things. At least that’s what I think. Shakespeare wrote “There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so.” We have an extraordinary gift. We can think and we can choose our reactions. It’s a shame we take this incredible ability for granted.

Stop making excuses. It would have been easy for me to put on Netflix tonight. I was in a horrible mood because of my unsuccessful run at creating an Amazon listing. I decided to write instead. I must say it’s therapeutic for me. I would not have felt this good if I had watched something. I would’ve felt even less accomplished. It feels good to be useful.

Eliz’s little cousin began writing. I couldn’t believe it when I saw that I was mentioned in her Instagram page. First, I couldn’t believe she had Instagram. When did 11 year olds start having Instagram? Second, I couldn’t believe she started to write and said I was her inspiration. To me, that’s enough to keep me going for a few years. If I can be a positive impact in one way or another and brighten someone’s day it makes me a happier person.

If I made the excuses and said I didn’t feel like writing then she may have never tried writing herself. Excuses inhibit creativity. Excuses hinder self-growth. Excuses delay happiness. My advice for this post is simple, stop making excuses.

Author: Mehmet Akcagliyan

I am the Master of my Fate. I am the Captain of my Soul.

2 thoughts on “Excuses”

  1. Oh My Gosh! This is so awesome! Your writing really hooks you, and makes the readers understand how you feel without actually saying the word. Your description is amazing, and you have such great quotes. I always start any blog post, presentation, or essay with a quote, and I love how you include quotes!! Thank you for mentioning me in your latest post! That was so nice.

Leave a Reply

